The Wind And The Trees

One day this will be in a book. A little thing I sent to my daughter who of course is in the other books. Two of the phrases below refer to Notes in two of my other books. Can you fund them?.

I went walking again in the pasture at lunch today and no one was around. There was just the wind’s flowing melody in the trees, a buzzard circling beneath the streaming wisps of high clouds above, and a deer that ran into the brush past the old fence and gate where I stood.

Then for an instant it was 18 years ago and you were a little girl with me at a place like this – do you remember Fall Creek and that picture I took of you? There were no sounds except our breath and words, the wind’s whispers, and maybe the call of a bird. It was just you and I on a bright winter day long ago when you were so full of life’s simple grandeur in that far-off, empty field by that meandering limestone bottomed creek with the dinosaur track.

But it was still the present, you aren’t with me, you’re not little, I’m not young, and that perfect little day has receded over the View of Forever’s infinite horizon into the sunset of our grey, fading memories as they always do.

And yet the wind will still sing through the trees while we gaze up at The Other Side Of The Sky pondering what new field we’ll be in on some wondrous day yet to come.

Leave a Reply

