The House on Monterrey

A special house that was home long ago. It’s echos fill your mind and heart across the years. This is from “Notes To My Kids”. As a historical aside the house, in east Fort worth, is down the street from where Lee Harvey Oswald is buried and near his mother’s former home on Craig Street.

To Roger and Jane:

While it has been a long time since we lived on Monterrey Drive in east Fort Worth, that house and neighborhood still have an important place in my memories. To me, it will always be your childhood home, even though you both left there for points east with your mom. For whatever reason, that little house still looms large in my mind.

I could probably write a book all to itself about it. All of the things I remember from when you were around me every day and how that time was in my life always come back into my memory. Like when I drive on I-30 back home from Dallas, I see the names of the streets on the bridges over the highway leading back to our old neck of the woods. While I can’t see the house from that vantage point, I can see the times spent there in my thoughts.

Little and big things both fill my mind about that house. From the type of trees it had (like the big oak tree in the back to the two pines in the front) to the shape of the rooms inside of it— remember the big den/dining room through the middle of it? Plus the many events that took place there over the years, like your birthdays, the times spent in the back yard, and when your grandparents came over for the holidays.

Your mom and I thought the house looked like something on the old Leave It to Beaver TV show, a program that showed a rather idealized version of family life. It may have been an unrealistic point of view, but it is one many people identify with in our culture to this day. It was a view of what a family should be like and how it should live.

And maybe that’s what I am thinking too when I see that forever white, two-story house with the dormers and its trees inside of my head. Perhaps I want to paint an idyllic picture on top of life’s ups and downs, which is the real canvass we see ourselves on each day.

Regardless of why I feel that way, or why I still hold that old house so dear, I know that it is good to have such a place in your life; a place that can be an anchor in life’s always present storms and gales. A place that as we get old, we can think back upon and remember times that were memorable and good. A place we can still call home even though we are far from its safe and comforting shores.

Leave a Reply

