Baby Roger at the Park

 Life is full of hard times.  But they are  followed by peace as the severe storms of existence fade away.  This is a story about one such calm after a raging gale.

To Roger:

One warm spring day after you were born and finally home, I put you in your blue stroller and pushed you down Sandy Lane to the Old Park.  That day was like so many that time of the year.   It was warm and sunny with a few fluffy white clouds streaming to the north on the south breeze. It was a perfect day to be in the park with you when you were little.

What I remember the most about that afternoon, a Saturday I think, was holding you against me on a swing. We went back and forth many times, and you fell asleep against my chest.  You were out like a light, as I faced north to the other side of the park, where I could see the fence of our back yard with the big oak tree towering over the roof of our house on Monterrey Drive. It was a view of our little part of the world from what became a favorite place for you and your sister.

As I looked at our house, I kept swinging slowly with you. There was no one around, and the park was quiet and still. The birds were chirping above our heads, and the wind swooshed through big oak trees. Except for the brief sound of a car on Sandy Lane, everything was calm and serene.

And that instance of quiet, the all-surrounding silence, was most clear that day—a time of calm after the chaos of your birth. There you were, my little boy, sound asleep in my arms. You, who had been so very sick, were now home and well with your dad, who loved you so very much.

That time was very special to me. You seemed to know you were safe and sound as you slept soundly up against me on that swing in the Old Park near our former home. I’ll never forget that moment—an instant of peace when I thought back about the terrible time you had been through not so long before. We all go through awful times of peril, fear and turmoil and they eventually transition back to great calming moments of safety, tranquility and quiet. That peaceful, warm spring day was one of those great days.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

